Margot Philips Gallery Ida Carey Gallery Chartwell Gallery Gallery B Gallery A Community Gallery Shop

Welcome to Artspost

Waikato Society of Arts

Our Vision: Fostering creativity and growth of visual arts

Our Mission: Supporting local artists with learning facilities and providing resources and exhibition opportunities.

Waikato Society of Arts is a not-for-profit organisation dedicated to serving the art needs of the visual artist and art lovers at every stage of their development.

WSA works to enrich the community by supporting growth and development of the visual arts through classes, exhibitions, forums and fellowship.

WSA holds several exhibitions each year and we are especially proud of hosting the National Youth Art Award and the New Zealand Painting and Printmaking Award, both attracting entries from all over New Zealand.

Become a member and enjoy all the benefits of belonging to one of the oldest and largest art societies in New Zealand!

Contact Details and Opening Hours

The WSA Office, Art School and the Next Level Gallery are located on Level 1 of the ArtsPost Building, 120 Victoria Street, Hamilton, New Zealand.

The Office and  Art School are open Monday - Friday, 8.30 - 3pm, Next Level Gallery Monday - Friday, 8.30 - 4pm

School holiday hours - Monday - Friday 8.45 - 2.00

After these hours, messages can be left on 07-839-4481.
For Artschool email, all other enquires email 

  Like us on facebook 

Calling entries for NZ Painting & Printmaking Award 2019

Entries are now open for the 2019 New Zealand Painting and Printmaking Award. The judge for the 2019 NZPPA is Kim Paton, Director of Auckland’s Objectspace and former Wintec researcher and art tutor. Selecting from a field of several hundred works, Kim will choose the winner and recipient of the Grand Prize. That artist will receive an award of $20,000, generously sponsored once again by the Vela family. Alongside the Grand Prize, Kim will also be awarding two Merit Awards from Wintec and the Print Council Aotearoa New Zealand. The winner of the People’s Choice Award sponsored by Gordon Harris will be announced after the exhibition has closed.

2019 heralds a change of venue for the NZPPA as the Waikato Society of Arts, in collaboration with our new major partner, Waikato Institute of Technology (Wintec), bring the award exhibition to Hamilton’s CBD. The award exhibition will be shown at Wintec’s premier event venue, The Atrium, which is located inside one of the city’s beautifully restored historic buildings on the central city campus (Wintec House). This significant development aims to take advantage of the recently invigorated gallery scene in Hamilton’s CBD, encourage a broader audience for the exhibition and tie in with the visual arts fare on show in the Hamilton arts precinct.

The award announcement event will take place on Thursday 28 February within Wintec’s, The Atrium (a ticketed event). After the opening night, the exhibition will be open (free) from Friday 1 March until Sunday 3 March. A series of events are planned, including a judge’s floor talk.

ENTRIES CLOSE NOVEMBER 23, please see entry link below.  All entrants will be notified of the result of their entry on or before FRIDAY 14 DECEMBER.



WSA Members Exhibition 2018 - Artspost Galleries

The annual Waikato Society of Arts Members Exhibition will again be held in the Artpost building. The Chartwell, Ida Carey and Margot Phillips galleries will all be used to display our Members entries. 

Line and the edges of form

The Annual WSA Members exhibition is coming up in October, Entries close October 1st. We are excited about this years exhibition and hope you will all join us for the opening night Thursday October 11th 5.30pm at Arts post. Even if you aren’t exhibiting this is a great chance to meet other members as well as the executive committee of WSA.

Showcasing recent work from current WSA members, this exhibition will include works of many mediums including sculpture, sound and installation - all focusing on the theme of ‘Line'. The crucial constant of line is evident in all art practices, whether straight, curved, two dimensional or defining the edges of a form - all lines are created by distance and movement between spaces. Artists expression of this idea can vary largely - in texture, colour, shape and form. For the viewer, lines can direct your eye through a journey when interpreting a work, and thus function as a potential way for artists to communicate thoughts or ideas in sequence to the receiver. Lines are as unique as the people that make them, and this exhibition aims to bring lines of many types together - to convey both uniform harmony and juxtaposition in one richly populated space.

NZ Painting and Printmaking Award 2018

In its 18th year, the New Zealand Painting and Printmaking Award (NZPPA) has a proud history of presenting a well-rounded group exhibition during the Hamilton Arts Festival featuring artwork produced by many of New Zealand’s top artists, alongside the announcement of the $20,000 prize sponsored by the Phillip Vela Family Trust.

This year we invited painter/printmaker Dianne Fogwell from Australia to be the judge. More information here.

NZPPA 2018 information including Finalists


Premier Award (Phillip Vela Family Trust) - John Pusateri - Buho y Calavera

#149 - Buho v Calavera.jpg

Merit Award (WSA) - Tim Croucher - Princess

Merit Award (PCANZ) - Jacqueline Aust - Atlas Of Declensions

Highly Commended - Hiria Anderson - My Advance Care Plan

#137 - My advance care plan.JPG

Highly Commended - Flynn Morris-Clarke - Young Hubris

People's Choice (Gordon Harris) - Libby Vandy-Mines - Whaingaroa, Raglan

#23 - Whaingaroa, Raglan 2017.JPG

More information about NZPPA 2017

NYAA 2018

The Midland MRI National Youth Art Award entries have now closed. This year was our best number of entries, 110!

The amazing Anna Mile’s has come on board to judge this year’s event and we are thrilled to be working with her. Owner and operator of a contemporary dealer gallery (the Anna Mile’s gallery in Auckland), she is extremely knowledgeable and passionate about contemporary art in Aotearoa.

We held our Opening evening and Awards ceremony last night and again, we had seven awards to present: 

The Midland MRI Grand Prize of $2,000 went to Samantha Carpenter

The Breakthrough Artist award of $1,000 went to Henry Turner

The Emerging Young Artist award of $500 went to Blake Tanner

The Print award of $500 went to Samantha Callaghan

The Abstract award of $500 went to Alex Wilkinson 

The Photography award of $500 went to Nikita Treweek 

The People’s Choice award of $250, sponsored by Gordon Harris Art Supplies was won by Anna Filimonova

Thank you to all our generous sponsors who helped make this such a special evening:

Major Sponsor - Midland MRI

Hamilton Radiology

Print Council Association of New Zealand

Fusion Print

Area Design


Gordon Harris Art Supplies

and to Primo Vino for helping with the refreshments and glasses.



Val Cuthbert - Blossoms

Important Dates:

Exhibition at ArtsPost: 7 September - 8 October

Opening: Thursday, 6 September

This Exhibition has now finished.